I invented this recipe by accident.  I came home from work one night and was craving some warm soup.  We rarely have tins of soup in our cupboard because I normally make soup on a weekly basis.  I went to our vegetable supplies and decided that it was a tad scarce and thought I would struggle to make a decent soup that was tasty.  Anyhows – I threw some vegetables and stuff together and came up with the most delicious soup that tasted soooo creamy – even although there was no cream in it and I have to say – it has became my most favourite soup in the whole world – nice with a bread roll to dip in!  So here it is….K’s Carrot & Onion Soup.  Enjoy x

INGREDIENTS

  1. 4 large carrots
  2. 2 large onions
  3. 2 small/medium potatoes
  4. red lentils – about 3 handfuls
  5. 3 ham stock cubes
  6. salt – I use Low salt at all times
  7. 2 large bay leaves (some can be so teeny)
  8. water

Now wait til you hear the method – its so simple!

METHOD

Once you have rinsed the lentils and washed and chopped the veg put every ingredient in a large pot, bring to the boil and simmer til the veg are really tender.  Then blend using a hand blender, then cool and store appropriately.  EASY!

I use within 2 days but I am sure it would last 3 days if cooled and stored appropriately.

